Availability | Prices / Booking Form | Call Trevor on +44(0)7752510111 or Email Us

Places of interest in Aguilas

Castle of St. John of the Eagles

These impressive ruins date from the 18th century. Visitors who climb to the castle will be rewarded by an amazing panoramic view of Aguilas and it’s surrounding areas. Plans for the restoration of the castle are well advanced and work will begin shortly. The easiest access is by way of a recently constructed footpath which can be approached from Calle Murillo opposite Plaza Robles near to the harbour.

Cope Tower

Torre de Cope is a 16th century watch-tower which has been recently restored. As a result of many attacks from the North African coast it has been destroyed and rebuilt many times. The tower can found approximately 9 Kms. from the centre of Aguilas and it is situated in Bahia de Cope, which is just beyond Calabardina.

Hornillo Pier

The British South Eastern Railway Company constructed this intriguing iron pier at the end of the 19th century. It is an ingenious piece of engineering, originally used to load ships with iron ore. The pier commenced operation in 1903 and is similar to the piers already in existence around that time in Huelva and Bilbao. It is well worth a visit although no longer in use and can easily be reached from the east side of the town in Bahia del Hornillo.

The Dovecot

The 18th century Dovecot is an impressive tower and the only remaining evidence of the Casa Grande. The inhabitants of Aguilas sought refuge within those protective walls during the many attacks upon the town. Despite the lack of maintenance the exterior has survived remarkably well although the interior is in ruins. The tower can be seen whilst driving around the western side of Aguilas.

The Railway Monument

Standing in the Isaac Peral square, it consists of an old steam locomotive, one of the first to b seen in Aguilas. It was built in 1889 in Glasgow and brought by ship in pieces to Aguilas. It was originally commissioned on 1st April 1890 and worked until 15th November 1967. It now stands as a homage to the railway which were so vital to the economic development of the Aguilas.

Fraile Island

A small island with a long and interesting history. Inhabitated in Roman Times, amphorae and plates from the fourth century and pottery of the “Sigillata Gris” variety have been found. The “garum” fish sauce was prepared on this island and this was much appreciated in ancient times. the island is situated two miles from the town in the El Hornillo bay.

Glorieta de la Plaza de España

This most beautiful of Spanish Plazas, originally laid down in 1874, boasts a wonderful collection of rare plants and shrubs all growing in the shade of tall palms and other trees. In the centre of the Plaza is the fountain known locally as “Pava de la Balsa” (Turkey in the Pool) an unusual name for what appears to be goose! The Plaza is surrounded by a variety of buildings, which mostly have beautiful early 19th century facades. Perhaps the most notable building is that of the Ayuntamiento (Town Hall), which is in the Neomudejar style.

Fortified Towers of Tebar and Chuecos

Two watchtowers, both of which are now almost completely in ruin completed the system of defence for the town. Intruders approaching from an inland direction could be seen from both towers. They are situated at the top of very high hills to the north of the town and can only be reached after an arduous climb.